1. ProsonicLive

ProsonicLive New Member

phobias, fears and death

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by ProsonicLive, May 21, 2013.

as a Horror writer I feel that the greatest tales were always the most simple. I know a lot of people who cite Cujo as one of the most scary stories ever.
    I know what I am asking is very personal, so do not feel obligated to reply, but what are some of your biggest fears. Perhaps the implications of your own death.
    maybe the means. Or maybe simple things that seem to scare you for no logical reason and why? again, this can be a very personal question, so all replies are deeply appreciated.

2. erebh

erebh Banned Contributor

Old age or my own natural mortality...
    Being buried alive really scares the crap out of me! I used to have terrible dreams of being trapped in a coffin, trying to lift the lid held down by 6 foot of dirt, I could see the fear and panic on my own face, horrible!

3. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

I have a mild form of claustrophobia. So I can be in tight spaces, but only for a few minutes. It's not like I'm scared, but I'm sorta counting the seconds when I'd be out. I know I can never enter caves or submarines or things like that - I'd be too afraid I won't be able to get out. I don't really like lifts, esp the old creaky metal ones.

There's also a slight irrational fear of choking - somehow I think about it when I'm eating peanuts... :rolleyes:

Oh and I used to get nightmares about being chased down by a variety of predators, usually dogs or wolves, there were also tigers at one point. Or otherwise, I'd be running for a closing gate or door, and it would always be shut by the time I reached it. Or in fact, by running for that door, I've trapped myself further because now the door behind me is also closed, something like that.