1. Benjingjo

Benjingjo New Member

Pick less ambitious ideas for first books?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Benjingjo, Dec 21, 2020.

I have around six ideas for stories, some less rough than others. I've been writing for seven years, but nothing that I want to publish (i.e. I have some experience.) I'd like to start writing pieces with the intent on publishing though.
    One of my stories however is rather ambitious and definitely atypical as far as genres go. It is inspired by Goethe's Faust, practically being a play written as one gigantic poem.
    This is a story I care a lot about. I want it to be good. Therefore I am thinking, is it maybe better to start with something more 'by the books'? Perhaps work on a novel first based on my other ideas, one that I don't care as much if I screw up?
    Should I first establish myself as an author before attempting to write something that isn't ordinary or even marketable?

Any thoughts on this matter are highly appreciated.

2. montecarlo

montecarlo Contributor Contributor

I burned myself out pretty hard trying to write what I call my masterpiece. It's been easier for me to write well on less ambitious projects. Just my own anecdote.

-MC

Benjingjo likes this.
  3. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

My first novel is pretty junky - but it's a project I love and will eventually go back and fix. I'm no expert on whether someone can knock out a first novel and make it amazing - but chances are it's going to be more a practice piece. One good thing is if you do go ahead with it - editing is the most important aspect of writing anyway. I never finished editing my first novel so who knows.

Benjingjo, Cave Troll and powseitch like this.
  4. powseitch

powseitch Member

Hi, new here, but share this struggle.

In recent times I've deferred to Hemingway's Nobel Prize acceptance speech. (No doubt this quote is regularly shared around here? )