1. frydham

frydham New Member

Hi all! New to this whole writing thing

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by frydham, May 11, 2011.

Hello all, as the title says I'm new to writing. I've been looking around the forums, and looks like a great place to learn grow.

I have had idea for a novel for about a month or so now. I've begun putting it on paper, but every time I start writing, I get a flood of new ideas. The plot more or less stays the same, but I think the story-line is becoming too long. Too grand. Too over the top.

How do you add interesting subplots and characters, while still staying focused on the main story?

2. popsicledeath

popsicledeath Banned

The basic idea is easy, of course, you just need to ensure every single detail, description and moment in your story is building toward the story you're trying to create. Of course, to be able to do that often takes years of reading and writing, and studying what you've read and written.

One of the reasons I like short stories is they're pretty quick to read and re-read, so lend themselves well to study. It's a more accessible format to deconstruct and analyze narrative design.

I recommend looking at some of the prize anthologies. It's 'literary' writing, often so may not be what you want to write yourself, but good for studying (and usually has a decent range of subjects, themes and even genres). O. Henry Prize anthologies are usually pretty solid and Best American are good, though the Best American has sucked the last few years (the year Stephen King edited it was probably the best of the last decade). Scribner has an anthology of the best fiction of the last whatever many years that is solid, that I've seen used in multiple college writing courses and private writing/reading groups (the second edition with the red paint slashes is better than the first, imo).