1. Prestige

Prestige New Member

Plottery Barn.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Prestige, Jan 16, 2009.

I had this idea for a novel that I plan on writing (and have been planning on writing for some time now). And I would like some input, thoughts, or help on plot direction and / or character development over the course of the book. Like I said, I've had the idea in my head for a while now, but I'm far from being able to start writing. I'm not sure if I should make a plot outline or what since I've never written lengthy fiction before. So I would like your input. Or help, for that matter.

I tried to put a little different spin on magic and superhero powers with this. Although the whole point of the book isn't religious in nature, the 'abilities' (or however you would like to call them) are directly impacted by the supernatural. Which is, in this case, the Christian God.

I took a look at some successful powers-based / superhuman movies and books and tried to combine elements of the best of them to create my own sort of 'force'. Anyhoo. To the point.

Central theme - It takes the verse Matthew 17:20, "I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, 'Move from here to there' and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you." and applies it (quite literally) to reality. Think matrix / star wars with a little quantum theory / zero-point field manipulation thrown in to create some sort of modern faith-based force which allows for certain people to possess extraordinary gifts. They were divinely chosen by the Creator for some reason (help!). One rule governs the use of their abilities though. Their powers are only to be used for the purposes of the Creator. Oh, and I'm also searching for a different name for God than 'The Creator' if you have any ideas.