1. Coreen Hipae

Coreen Hipae New Member

Podiobooks

Discussion in 'Self-Publishing' started by Coreen Hipae, Apr 14, 2011.

So as a potential author I have decided that I will self publish my novels until I can gain some minor fame and fandom. I have chosen the route of releasing directly to the Kindle and selling as various e-book formats.
    YET I am also swaying toward releasing my novels for free as podiobooks. I for one love listening to podiobooks, and I know that authors do still make money one books that they release as free audio (podiobooks). I know its a lot of work, but I currently personally believe it pays off in gaining a fan base, and getting your name out there. For example look at Scott Sigler, a wonderful author, who started out by releasing his novels for free as podiobooks, and still does. Yet he sells them as true paper books and regular audiobooks.

I am wondering what do you all think of this form of publishing? Do you think it is worth it in the long run? Would you consider doing it?

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

never heard of 'podiobooks'... what is it?

3. popsicledeath

popsicledeath Banned

My guess is an audio book, but formatted in MP3 format so people can listen to them on just about any device, particularly ipods and the like through headphones (instead if needing a tape deck or CD player).

Kind of like Podcasts, which are sort of amateur radio shows designed for MP3 players.

To the OP: I think it's dangerous basing your business decisions on the examples of others that are mostly likely exception to the rule. The fact is, most people who self-publish, especially giving their work away for free, don't make any money at it.

I'm not saying don't do it, just to be sure your expectations aren't raised higher than they should be based on one example (or even several) of success, as there are usually many more examples where it didn't work out.