1. SapereAude

SapereAude Contributor Contributor

Question Workshop question

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by SapereAude, Mar 8, 2021.

I haven't yet found my way into any of the workshop areas, because I don't feel that I'm qualified enough to be offering critiques. On the other hand, I have been a beta reader for a couple of novels (from outside of this site), and I haven't had any hand grenades arrive in my post box so perhaps I don't totally suck at it. I'll get there--eventually.

I'm also not yet ready to offer up my work for critique. Old wounds that haven't healed -- I'm an architect, and the nature of architecture school is that each project is put up on boards in front of a panel of faculty members who proceed to rip your creations into tiny shreds -- along with your ego. Dealing with drill sergeants in the Army was a walk in the park compared to some of my architecture juries.

Should I become active in offering critiques in the workshop areas, at some point I might actually dare to post something of my own. Mostly I do non-fiction but some time ago (longer ago than I ever imagined -- 2004, to be exact) I wrote what I considered to be a short story. Since joining this forum and seeing references to novelettes and novellas, I looked up some guidelines to see what the distinctions are. My "short story" is actually more than 18,000 words, which means it's not a short story but a novelette (or is it a novella?). Looking at the categories in the workshop, I see one for short stories and I see one for novels. Where do novelettes and novellas go?

2. More

More Active Member