1. neverliketheending

neverliketheending New Member

How many commas?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by neverliketheending, Oct 9, 2010.

In this sentance should there 2 commas, or 3?
    'She went to the shop and bought apples, carrots, pears, and oranges.'
    Its the last comma between 'pears' and 'and' I'm arguing with hubby about.

2. art

art Contributor Contributor

Neither ways are technically incorrect. Yet, in a list such as this, where each object carries equal weight/meaning it would be appropriate to include it.

In situations like this, as a general rule, best to inlclude it unless you you are specifically attempting to (very subtly) modify stress or rhythm.

3. neverliketheending

neverliketheending New Member

Thanks, although that means DH was right, even if technically I wasn't wrong.

4. NarcissusShrugged

NarcissusShrugged New Member

slouching through uptown, Minneapolis, MN
    The "Harvard" comma

Hello, noob here. In fact this is one of the first threads I have looked at and the first one I'm responding to, but having run across this situation before, I thought I'd pipe in. Not sure of the etiquette here yet, so if I step on toes or anything, please advise.

The comma before the conjunction in a list is indeed a matter of choice, as previously and quite eloquently stated. When used, it is referred to as a serial comma.
    Also informally known as the "Oxford" or "Harvard" comma there are arguments for and against its use, but both are considered technically correct (or more precisely, neither is considered incorrect).

As the nicknames suggest the serial comma is generally considered to be the more formal of the two usages, but I don't believe there are any hard and fast rules. The style guides aren't much help, they're fairly evenly split, I fear.

It's subtle, but the variation chosen can affect ambiguity as well as have an effect in the cadence the reader employs.