1. Spudfuzz

Spudfuzz New Member

Problems with 'Compelling Conflict'

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Spudfuzz, Mar 18, 2020.

Hello,

I'm a pretty green writer in a bit of a weird spot. I was collaborating with a writer for quite a while on a rather long story with the intent of making it a webcomic. No aspirations or goals with it just purely a 'for fun' thing. Though he's largely decided not to work on it anymore and I feel an itch to see this thing through. It's definitely far outside of my scope of capability but I'd like to learn how to write to do it. After all I learned to draw.

The thing is I can never escape this hurdle of crafting a genuine compelling conflict, no matter what kind of story I work on. I can come up with plenty of short story ideas but this is always that giant road block. It's a bit easier if it's a character dealing with inner demons but when I'm dealing with something that concerns a fantasy world's politics there's just one little problem. I can't really comprehend individuals, let alone entire nations/ corporations who are like this one dimensional cartoon villain who're so obsessed with greed and self gain it sort of just defies all common sense.

A world I'm writing for requires it for a few factions, and the frustrating thing is that I can look for countless examples at people and nations who operate like this in the real world. Both current and past. I just don't really understand why it is when I try to write a nation that operates in this fashion, I still feel like the conflict that results from it is a giant "meh". I mean hell even right now look at the sort of insanity ensuing from countries locking down amidst the virus and leaving people unable to pay their bills. There's no way we're not walking away from this without some kind of major cultural impact, whatever it may be.