1. SNJade96

SNJade96 New Member

Progress Journal

Discussion in 'Progress Journals' started by SNJade96, May 16, 2020.

I'm starting this a little late in the game for most people, but it's pretty early for me.
    My inspiration tends to come in sudden waves; like, I'll just be listening to music or watching TV and I'll just be hit with an idea. To try and account for this, I'll go on a bit of a writing binge where I do nothing but write for about a week straight, get the first ten chapters done to get a feel for the characters, and then go searching for more inspiration.
    Just to clarify, my initial plots are normally really, really boring. It's only after the "more inspiration" phase that they tend to get interesting. That being said, I have very little experience actually finishing books (read: none) and this might just be going for the book I'm writing so far.
    Sorry to go expounding my writing process to you all, but I had to clarify that I was in the "more inspiration" phase right now.

So, to give you the general idea of the story, it takes place in a post-apocalyptic world that uses orphans as slaves, just under different names to make it seem "okay". The main character is one of these slaves, and she's trying to make it in the world and protect her little brother from afar, as the two genders are kept separate because romance isn't allowed. That's the very, very basics of the beginning of the story, but I'm not going to go into too much detail, and as I said, this is pretty early in development for me.
    This book started as a one-off story, but at the end of the new, improved story (in the middle of the more inspiration phase) there's a lot of plot threads left hanging, so I think it's turning into a bit of a series.
    Also, I would go and tell the title of the book, but as of right now, it doesn't have one.