1. P2W2

P2W2 New Member

Is vocabulory important?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by P2W2, Apr 14, 2008.

I have been a business writer for some time now. Most of my thoughts on writing have been influenced by "On Writing Well" by William Zinsser.

The crux of his work is, simplify, simplify, simplify. You don't need big words. You don't need to sound big. You just have to convey the message in as few words as possible.

When you do that, do you need a big vocab? Seems useless to me.

What do you think?

2. Heather Louise

Heather Louise Contributor Contributor

Personally I do not think using long words are what are important, but word variation definatly is. It is boring to read something where the same words are being repeated over and over again. Try and use a variation of words, but there is no point including technical words that no-one is going to be able to understand as the point of writing is to get a message across, and if no-one can understand it then there is no point.

3. Endeavour

Endeavour New Member

Vocabulary is important. No matter how simplistic your ideas are, being too simple can ruin your work. It is vital to use simple sentences but equally important to convey them in decent words. The idea is not to use fancy words too many times in a row. Vary their usage.

4. Michael Davis

Michael Davis New Member

Suggestion

Its a matter of degree. The vast majority of humans have a straight forward vocabulary when they talk. If you're too complicated, it stops the reader from the flow, but tossing in a few words every now and then, not in the dialogue put in the tag build up or the narrative doesn't hurt.