1. QualityPen

QualityPen Member

QualityPen's Progress Thread (Fantasy Series)

Discussion in 'Progress Journals' started by QualityPen, Dec 5, 2016.

This thread is dedicated to my progress on a currently unnamed novel series set in a fantasy universe. I'm not a professional author, so this series is intended to be as much a hobby as an eventually published book series. I'm in the world-building phase of writing; I like to plan out a world with great detail before I begin writing so that I can avoid inconsistencies down the line.

Right now I am developing the geography, politics, religion, and culture of the regions that will feature in the books. There are four key nations that I need to create details for. Acias, Asgariath, Tavron, and the Silver Sea Coast are the names of these areas. Tavron is almost completely developed to where it needs to be and it will not really come into play until the third or fourth book in the series. The reason I focused on Tavron first is that it is the birthplace of my main character and his decisions in the books are often the result of his family's demise during a revolution in Tavron a little over a decade before the first book. Acias is where the books begin, so this is where i should focus my efforts next. The Silver Sea Coast will not be mentioned much in the first two books, so its development can be left for last.

I have also been creating a chapter by chapter plot outline for each novel simultaneously. These are likely subject to change as I begin to write the chapters and find ideas that I like more.