1. Charlie TC

Charlie TC New Member

Query, middle-grade fiction

Discussion in 'Query & Cover Letter Critique' started by Charlie TC, Sep 19, 2019.

This is my first try at this one, so let me know what you think:

Since Mackenzie’s parents work for a worldwide relief foundation, at twelve she has grown up traveling the world and helping people. When her parents have to leave her behind during an assignment, summer camp seems the ideal place for her to go. Camp Wachoufome looks great online, but is actually a dump, run by a maniacal owner. Liddy is using the campers to build it into the place she is already advertising it to be. Because of her experience and positive attitude, Mac is able to make the work of chopping down trees and clearing paths much easier. She and her new friends begin to have a good time, until one of the campers becomes mysteriously ill. Liddy refuses to take him to a doctor. The camp is miles from nowhere, and their friend is too sick to travel. With no cell phones, internet or ways to contact the outside world, they feel helpless as their friend gets sicker and sicker. Mac and the other campers must find a way to get their friend to help, even if it means doing something really crazy. That’s when they figure out the real meaning of the name: Camp Watch Out For Me.

My Really Cruddy, Awful, Terrible, Horrible, Amazing Summer Adventure is complete at 59,500 words. This is my eleventh children’s book. The other books are self-published and have sold over 120,000 copies.

2. oreopaw

oreopaw New Member

First off, congrats on your previous successes! That's awesome! Any agent will be happy to see that.

I would say maybe talk more about the maniacal camp owner who is making the kids cut down trees, because it startled me when you skipped right past that to the kids starting to have a good time. Other than that, it sounds pretty good. Good luck!

3. Charlie TC

Charlie TC New Member