1. stargazer

stargazer New Member

Question about "That" and "Then"

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by stargazer, Feb 9, 2011.

Greetings,
    I am a new writer. I recently finished a manuscript and realized I use "that" and "then" heavily in my writing. They each had over 400 occurrences in a 60,000 word document.
    Do you have any tips on how I can avoid using them so often? Am I rushing in my writing?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks.

2. Terry D

Terry D Active Member

That is an interesting question. (Sorry, I couldn't help myself!) Your question is an interesting one. It may well be that you are rushing your writing, or are trying to make your writer's voice sound conversational. In spoken English many of us use the words 'that' and 'then' frequently. They are like little shortcuts to get us from one idea to the next in as few words as possible. They are very general words, but in conversation we can get by with being general because we have body language and context to rely on to make our meaning clear. We also have a live person who can promt us for more information if our point is not clear. In our writing we need to be sure we choose specific words to carry our meaning.

Gabriel cleaned his room then went outside.

After cleaning his room, Gabriel decided to go outside.

The house that sat on the top of the hill was thought to be haunted.

Sitting on top of the hill like a vulture, the house was thought to be haunted.

3. zaffy

zaffy Active Member

I have just finished reading Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.
    'That' appears in nearly every sentence at least once, and often twice and thrice.
    The word kept leaping off the page at me.

4. stargazer

stargazer New Member

Thanks for both replies.