1. Boysarn

Boysarn New Member

Question about ;

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Boysarn, Mar 4, 2011.

Hey!

Word keeps bugging me about ; (semicolon), never learned about it in school so I'm wondering what the general rule to use it is comapred to a regular comma?

For example in the following sentance, I wrote it as:
    Word wanted:
    Why isn't a regular , enough?

Thanks!

2. JMTweedie

JMTweedie New Member

I'm no expert but it looks like you have two seperate sentences that work well as they are and should be separated by a full stop. You could try that.

A semi colon is used for listing things, usually. Maybe Word thought you were listing sentences? Hard to say.

3. Boysarn

Boysarn New Member

Inserting full stop would work but I feel that I kind of lose the "flow" of the story, know what I'm saying? A regular comma works though, yes?

4. JMTweedie

JMTweedie New Member

I think it looks better with a full stop. I'm a bit picky about being grammatically correct, although I do make mistakes myself.

In my opinion it flows well as two separate sentences. The comma looks out of place.

You would use a comma if you had written:

She stepped softly over to the old wooden chair where the professor sat, breathing deeply.

As you can see the words after the comma would not constitute a full sentence on their own. You could then create a sentence to describe that this was the only sound in the room etc.

5. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

A semi colon is for joining two closely related but complete sentences.

You can use either - a sentence is just a collection of words that make sense together. Beginning with a capital letter and ending in a fullstop. How you choose to divide up that sentence is a matter of style and courtesy to the reader.

However a semi colon would do what you want it provides a fullstop, whilst maintaining the flow, and joining those two completed sentences.

6. Boysarn

Boysarn New Member