Tags:
  1. Gadock

Gadock Active Member

How does magic work in your story? Can you also find flaws in mine?

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Gadock, Jun 19, 2016.

Greetings, quite a big text coming in so get comfy!

I have a story developing within my skull, started to write bits and pieces down. Writing isn't my occupation (since I'm studying physics) and up to now it's still a hobby or daydreaming activity, however it's gnawing me more and more; giving the urge to write.

Magic in my world is very important since it can be very powerful and everyone can learn it. I have done a little bit of homework, I know my idea of magic would be classified as hard magic; where you know exactly what magic can do and what its limitations are. With this I will set up an elaborate system where people can't become too powerful but still remains -what I hope to be- exciting. I like to mainly prevent situations where readers will wonder why it happened like that (which happens more often with soft magic stories). Also Chosen Ones are too easy for me. I've seen too many stories where protagonist wins from antagonist purely because s/he is the chosen one. Not gonna continue on this, however if you would like to. threads/whats-so-wrong-with-the-chosen-one.146033/page-3#post-1453294

All the names I've used so far are not final. If you have suggestions I'd love to hear them. Although, I'm thinking of using a form of old english.

History:

For the past thousand years, magic uses have been removed, Muràdon (used to be called The Great Banishment). Ancient humans were getting too strong, therefor too destructive to the world. To prevent an all out war 4 of the greatest wizards cast a spell together to banish all magic from this world. With the death of the last wizard the spell wore down. All information is lost from the ancient time since most was stored with help of magic.

Magic:

The physical world is connected to a world completely made of magic. So far called The Nether.