1. freezemachine

freezemachine New Member

A battle without physical contact

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by freezemachine, Jan 22, 2011.

Greetings everyone!

This is my first time on the forums and I am visiting you with a dilemma in my plot line.

My story is populated only with incorporeal spirits (ghosts.) I find that there is a need for certain battle sequences in which the spirits will fight with each other. Naturally, they cannot harm themselves in any way physically but I need some way in which they can interact in a "harmful" way with each other to give the reader a sense of drama.

I've thought of some kind of telekinetic attack but I can't seem to convey a sense of danger when the characters cannot die.

Thanks for any input ahead of time and yes, I'm crazy for attempting to write a story like this.

2. Ellipse

Ellipse Contributor Contributor

How about a mental battle, or a battle of wills? Your spirits may not be able to die, but perhaps they can be incapacitated for time? Their version of being K.O.'ed is they could 'fade away' for a few hours and then reform later.

3. -oz

-oz Active Member

Another idea to give weight to a mental conflict is where the loser would feel drained and unable to conjure up happy feelings. Losing memories is another idea, something that would sever their link to the mortal world or personal history, if they are ghosts of people.

4. FrankABlissett

FrankABlissett Active Member

Or, you could simply have it as a contest of wit and will, where the loser loses political points, and the winner is more esteemed. The loser becomes a no-one, while the winner becomes a power broker.

Imagine a Klingon challenging you to a duel - "you chose the weapon, puny human." "Okay - I chose words."