1. BluEyedVixen

BluEyedVixen New Member

Questions

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by BluEyedVixen, Feb 11, 2011.

Hi, I am new to the forums and did not see answers to the following questions, though I am sure they are here as these questions must get asked plenty. I would love any feedback.

I am new to the writing world, although certainly not new to writing. I never had a desire to be published until recently, and now I find myself with a list of questions that I cannot find answers to. I have a novel that I am almost finished with, and have fallen in love with. I have no idea how to go about getting my work published or what order things go in. I will try to sum up my questions.

1. I read that I will need a litterary agent, but I have no clue where I should look or how to tell a good agent from a bad one.

2. Can I get my work published by a good company without an agent?

3. Am I supposed to get my work copyright before I contact anyone on the novel? If I were to send it to an agent or a publisher, would they be able to steal credit for my work?

I have more, but many of them depend on the answers to those questions. I am sorry if this is our of place, I didn't know where it would belong. Thank you for any feedback, I look forward to your response.

-BluEyedVixen-

2. LordKyleOfEarth

LordKyleOfEarth Contributor Contributor

a) Welcome to the forums!

1) You can find publishers at places like Duotrope.com, the writer's market publication (check your local library), or through google. Once you find someone you are interested in, google their name to see what other people are saying about them. If it smells too good to be real, it likely is. Legit publishers do not charge reading fees.

2) I believe so. You definitely can with short stories, I don't see why novels would be different.