1. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

Does anyone else consider writing a core piece of their identity rather than a hobby?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Mallory, Mar 13, 2012.

I've been a writer my entire life. Even when I was 2-3 years old and didn't know how to read/write yet, I was still coming up with characters and storylines and trying to express them as well as I could at that age (according to my parents and daycare people). My kindergarten teacher thought I had a mental problem at first because I was so wrapped up in my own world all the time. When I learned to read a few years later, it seemed natural and fitting that I'd write my own stories too, and so I starting writing around the same time I learned basic reading. There was never a big "I want to be a writer when I grow up" or "I want to try writing" moment - it's just been a major, ingrained part of my identity for my whole life. When I go through periods where I don't write for a while (too much work on my plate, really active social life, etc.) I start feeling depressed and stressed out, but then when I start writing or planning a story it fixes that feeling immediately. Even my thoughts are usually in terms of written-out sentences the way I'd write them in a book.

I don't really consider writing a hobby the way I consider gaming, improv, swimming etc. to be hobbies. Instead it's a major part of who I am as a person. Is anyone else like this? I'm curious how many out there think/feel the same way.

I'm not trying to be pretentious in this post. Of course I'm not the best writer in the world - there will always be people better than me at anything.

2. Metus

Metus New Member