1. Fireflyoflight

Fireflyoflight New Member

Proper Character Development for Idiots? Help Please!

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Fireflyoflight, Mar 4, 2013.

I want to properly flesh out my characters but I don't want them to sound like the dreaded "Mary/Gary Sues". I've tried keeping a notebook for story development and try to write character bios but I've been working on my current project for six years and I would like to eventually submit it to a publisher to (hopefully) get published. Any suggestions?

2. Miranda Louise

Miranda Louise New Member

In the stories that I write,( I have not published any yet either) I usually start out by giving my character a name... I will sometimes change that name until I feel that I have the right name. I add flesh to my character by description of appearance, character, which includes moods, likes , dislikes, etc. If I understand your question, than I have to say , you need to believe that your character is real...to bring it life. keep writing , :)

3. funkybassmannick

funkybassmannick New Member

All characters should want something in every scene. Also, they should be haunted by something from their past. Make all your characters the star of their own story.

Whenever possible, try to show two characters having conflict, whether it's funny (A lefty and a righty arguing over which is the better dominant hand) or serious (A communist and a capitalist arguing over which system is better).

4. SomeWannabe

SomeWannabe New Member

A mistake I tend to make is to try to summarize the character with a few descriptors, which is kind of what I think happens in character bios. Like, oh, I want him to be mysterious, or she should be generous and loving. In the end it becomes very two dimensional and I realize that I still know next to nothing about them.