1. ScrumptioulsyJess

ScrumptioulsyJess New Member

LGBT PUBLISHING DISCRIMINATION HELP

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by ScrumptioulsyJess, Apr 2, 2019.

Hi everyone, my name is Jess. I am a student at Teesside University in England, for my current project I am trying to compile and create a leaflet that I would distribute to the local community, the leaflet will contain information for aspiring LGBT writers, on how to get your work published through LGBT specific publishers and agents. One section of my leaflet will cover LGBT discrimination in the workplace more specific the literary field, I decided to start my research by asking you, the LGBT community if you have experienced any discrimination whilst either

- Applying for a job within a literary business e.g interviews at publishing houses, with agents or libraries in your local area
    - Any discrimination you may have been victim to whilst working at any of the previously mentioned professions
    - Discrimination when attempting to publish some of your work.

All, if any contributions to this forum would be massively appreciated as it will help me greatly with my assignment. Thank you in advance.

Oscar Leigh, jannert and Shenanigator like this.
  2. Bjørnar Munkerud

Bjørnar Munkerud Senior Member

I'm a bisexual man. I have never experienced any negative consequences of biphobia regarding my writing. This is probably largely because I am self-published, and as such I have had minimal contact with people who have had power over my writing.