Tags:
  1. jess046

jess046 New Member

Jumping around with lots of POVs

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by jess046, Jul 18, 2011.

I wanted to hear some other writers' opinions on novels that jump around to various POVs. Obviously, a lot of novels do this with big casts of characters, with I suppose Dickens being the staple for this kind of writing with successors such as Tom Wolfe, ect. What I've been thinking of, however, is jumping to another character's POV for just one chapter.

You see, I've been working on my novel for a few months now and it originally started with two mains, but I wanted to show them from other character's POVs so I wrote the first half of the novel from two separate POVs, with other supporting characters appearing periodically. The focus was always on my two mains. However, since I've been writing about these characters for a few months now, the supporting characters have become a lot clearer in my mind. And I've been thinking of doing a chapter from their POV since it will add to the overall theme and flesh the character out a little more. I'm worried that it's going to be too much though. I've already explored five POVs (including my mains) and don't want the story to get bloated.

I'm inspired a lot by Bret Easton Ellis who does this in The Rules of Attraction, jumping to random characters' POV for a chapter and then returning to the mains. So it can be done well. I'm just not sure if it's right for my story.

Anyway to bring this discussion back to a more general area, how do you guys feel about a wide scope of POVs? Is it effective story technique or just lazy?

2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

It's far from lazy. To do it well is more difficult than maintaining a single POV. If you can do it well, go for it.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor