1. Teladan

Teladan Contributor Contributor

Rural Houses & Wine Cellars

Discussion in 'Research' started by Teladan, Apr 28, 2021.

Despite having a love of architecture (in almost all styles) my writing progress is often impeded by not knowing how to describe certain house styles. Take this house. What would one call this? Is it a detached country home in an isolated rural setting? I suppose it is. I just have a habit of using the bare minimum of description when I'm not sure. I want to describe this building in detail as it fits perfectly with my intended setting. Secondly, wine cellars. I want to turn a wine cellar into a repository for rows of jars containing fantastical objects. Would a wine cellar "work" with this kind of house? I have no experience with wine cellars at all.

[​IMG]

Thanks.

2. SapereAude

SapereAude Contributor Contributor

The resident architect (me) says that house isn't any particular style. I would describe it as a French (or English) country house. It might have a wine cellar, although in general I would not expect one in a house with no distinct architectural style.

petra4 and Teladan like this.
  3. Hammer

Hammer Moderator Staff Supporter Contributor

If it's in the UK, I would hazard that it is in North Oxfordshire, possible Cotswold stone with a stone or cut-in slate roof. We can't tell how isolated it is from that picture - I can see other buildings and chimneys which may belong to other buildings or may comprise wings and outbuildings of the messuage.