1. Garball

Garball Banned Contributor

Novel Scrapping a manuscript

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Garball, May 24, 2014.

After letting a couple people read part of my MS, there was a general consensus: "The story is great, but the writing stinks."

I admit I made every mistake a novice writer could make, but that does not discourage me. After all, I am a novice writer; I should make mistakes. Something interesting happened while writing the book, though. My main character, who was born a semi-autobiographical character, separated himself and became his own person. I can visualize him reading his own story and shaking his head at me disapprovingly.

So, Herb and I are going to try again to tell his story through the written word again, but this time better. I feel like shredding the MS and deleting all of the drafts from my computer and starting from scratch. If there was something worth keeping from the original, it should find its way into the second attempt, right?

2. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

Whatever you do, DO NOT DELETE YOUR OLD DRAFTS!!

You will almost definitely regret permanently deleting anything you write. Be a packrat about this. Just stick the drafts on a flash drive or on the top shelf of your closet - you may never look at them again. But if you ever want to, you need to have them available.

You can start again with a clean slate - a brand-new blank document in your word processor. But that doesn't mean you have to lose the work you've done.

Search around this forum, and you'll find many people who've lamented the fact that they deleted their old stuff and can't get it back.

3. Ulramar

Ulramar Contributor Contributor

I never mothballed a total manuscript, but when I was starting to get serious I got the farthest I had ever gotten and I had to toss it.