1. Lydia

Lydia Contributor Contributor

Need a bit help with teaching...

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Lydia, Sep 24, 2012.

Hey everyone! Not sure if this is the right place to put this thread, but I guess so.

As some of you may know, I'm studying to be a teacher, and that means that once in a while I need to get inside a classroom and do some teaching. :p
    I'll be having to do that a couple of times next month, and I had an idea for a certain subject that I want to teach that'd require me to write a short story. My idea was to have a short story that I could read to the kids, and then have them create their own illustrations with it. Then afterwards I'd scan the illustrations and fit them with the text of the story so it'd be like a 'real' book that they helped creating.

Now my question to you all is whether you have some really cool ideas that I could use in this story. I probably could come up with something myself, but I'd just like a little input from some other people. ;) I was thinking to make it a fantasy story, using some characters/things that are kind of used a lot (poor boy, pretty girl, dragon, evil lord, stuff like that) because it has to appeal to little kids, both boys and girls (8-9 years old). However, I don't want to make it absolute cliché story because I would hate it if it was. I'm just scared that if I start adding more original things to it, the story will get too long. I need to be able to read it to them in max. 30 minutes so they'll have time to make illustrations.

Anyway, if any of you have some interesting (but not too complex) ideas about something I could use in this story, feel free to share. Thanks! :D

2. TheStarChild

TheStarChild New Member