1. Lea`Brooks

Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor

Novel Formatting a novella

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Lea`Brooks, Aug 5, 2016.

Hey all! I had a dream last night that I want to turn into a novella. However, I've never written one before (or even thought of doing so), so I'm not sure how it differs from a novel or short story. Obviously length plays into it. But other than that...

1) Are they divided into chapters as well?
    2) Are they or should they be divided into acts? Not the "three act structure" but actual page break acts.
    3) Do you need to get into the action with them right away? Or can you delay it a bit?

For some context, it's a horror story essentially about rabid dogs. The MC goes to a foreign country to visit a friend who's been there studying abroad. I wanted the first "act" to be about them living together for a couple weeks and having fun. Then I wanted the second "act" to follow them trying to survive. But I don't want to bore the reader by not getting into the action immediately. Of course, I'd pepper in some drama in the first act. But the real story is in the second act.

Is this the wrong way to go? Should I simply condense the first act to a couple chapters and jump right into the action? If so, it would end up being more of a short story than a novella...

Thoughts?

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Are you able to inject a sense of foreboding into the first couple chapters? If so, I don't think there's anything wrong with spending a little while setting the scene - I think horror is one of the genres where this makes the most sense, to me.

In terms of formatting - I don't really know what you mean by acts, but, yes, most novellas I've read and written have chapters.

3. OurJud

OurJud Contributor Contributor

If you've written short stories, I'd just treat it as a long short story, or if you like, a very short novel.