Tags:
  1. Rachel2018

Rachel2018 New Member

When is it time to quit?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Rachel2018, Sep 17, 2018.

I've been writing for over 25 years. I used to love it. I switched to self-publishing a few years ago, and it was the thing I'd been waiting for all my life.

Until it wasn't.

The problem is that my writing just is not good enough. I've written close to 40 books, only 12 have been published. I've taken classes, gone to conferences, hired editors and coaches and teachers. But as soon as I drop more money on learning and improve my next book, I get more bad reviews. Even my beta readers, who give me amazing critique, which I always take to heart and use to improve, have never given me over a four star review. My books struggle to stay higher than 4 on Amazon and 3 on GR.

I feel like I'm floundering. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. When I asked my betas, they said, "Nothing! We love your work." A half dozen editors and writing coaches have said the same.

I write romance, which I know isn't literary. And yet, romance books can still earn five star reviews. Their authors are great. Readers rave about them.

Not me.

So, when do I cut my losses and stop chasing after something I'll never get?

Iain Sparrow likes this.
  2. Dracon

Dracon Contributor Contributor

Well, what can I say? It's not really a question that I or anyone else can answer for you. Only you can.

Many writers will carry on regardless. Many will hang up their gloves, so to speak. Depends on how much they actually enjoy it.

3. Iain Sparrow

Iain Sparrow Banned Contributor

Then it's high time you break the spell.
    You might try changing genres, say, Historical Fiction? Perhaps you've yet to find the story you're meant to write.

matwoolf, deadrats and peachalulu like this.
  4. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor