1. charliestars

charliestars New Member

Novel Advice needed with regards to pictures in a fictional novel

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by charliestars, Jun 4, 2014.

Hi Everyone

Could somebody please be so kind as to advise me on the rules as far as using pictures in a fiction novel.

I have started writing a story and have arrived at a rather difficult part. Needless to say this is my first attempt at writing a book of any sort.

I have these ancient ruins and their precise dimensions viewed from different angles that I need to inject into my story. Kind of like the building plans to a home. How does one in this instance inject that part into the story. Could I just put the plans of the ruins as a picture with its dimensions in the story and write from a 3rd person perspective for example that "Mr X laid these plans on the table" ?

What are the rules for inserting pictures in a fiction novel ? Bearing in mind it is not a comic nor is it a children's book.

Any help here would really be appreciated
    Kind Regards
    Edwin

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

all novels are by definition, 'fiction'... so don't use both words when querying agents/publishers, or you'll be branding yourself a clueless amateur...

if you'll be submitting to agents and traditional [= paying'] publishing houses, do not insert any artwork into the ms, just submit the text... if/when interest is shown in the ms, then you can ask if they'd be interested in seeing your art...

illustrations such as you've mentioned are usually placed at the front of the book, so the reader can refer back to them... they most likely wouldn't be inserted into the text, so you don't need to mention them in the story itself, other than how you would normally do so as part of the plot...

3. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor