Tags:
  1. Man in the Box

Man in the Box Active Member

Writing for fun

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Man in the Box, Feb 17, 2014.

I've been thinking about something... Do any of you write fiction just for the heck of it? Without professional desires, I mean. Is the goal of everyone here to be published by a publishing house one day?

I'm a law graduate and would probably earn more money, and faster, being a lawyer. But I love to write, too. However, I haven't been taking a very serious approach to my writing. I write whenever I feel like it, which I'm sure isn't the correct approach for someone wanting to pursue a literary career. Professional writers have contracts they need to follow.

Also, there's the fact that the publishers aren't always fair. They do reject a lot of the talentless people, but ocasionally a lot of garbage makes it to the shops, too. And many classic authors had to put up with many rejection letters until someone accepted them. Quality control requires being conservative. If you're writing just for fun, you don't need to go through all that, and if you still want to get published, nowadays you can self-publish online (just don't expect lots of income from it).

Back to the beginning, though, the main question here is, have any of you written something just for the sake of writing?

2. stevesh

stevesh Banned Contributor

I'd guess that every writer has written just for fun, or more likely, for practice or to try out something new, without expecting that the piece would ever be published. I don't know any reason you couldn't be a lawyer and (maybe then) a writer. Be careful what you start, though:

"Writing stopped being fun when I discovered the difference between good writing and bad and, even more terrifying, the difference between it and true art. And after that, the whip came down."

Truman Capote

3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor