1. WritersBlock

WritersBlock New Member

Age Bias?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by WritersBlock, Mar 30, 2010.

Hello all-

I'm a teen writer, probably one of the small percentage that does not write fantasy, as us teens are sometimes stereotyped to (if you're curious, I like to write horror, thriller, and mystery). I was just wondering- is there a bias when it comes to publishers and teen writers? I dream of getting published someday, but I know that it will be nearly impossible if the publisher knows of my age. I feel that I am more mature than the average teen-fantasy writer type, and actually am writing my current novel for the adult market. My opinion is that if it's a well-written piece, it doesn't matter how old the person who wrote it is. Have you had any experiences with publishers like this, or know of how they act in these situations?

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Well, to start with, don't announce you're a teen writer. There's no need to mention it in the query or the manuscript, and don't volunteer a bio until asked. By then, you already have the publisher's interest, and probably even an offer.

Don't point them to a personal website, or your Facebook page. Stick to business. Queries should be tight and focused anyway.

The only time it may matter is when it comes to signing a contract. Check with a lawyer at that time, and see if you need an adult to sign with you.

3. bruce

bruce Active Member

You know? How? This is really a false belief that you should get rid of.

"Publishers will only buy saleable novels."

This is the new belief that you should embrace. Learn to write well and stay focused on writing.

In fact, at your age, if you can write saleable novels, many publishers will welcome you gladly. Just imagine how many novels you could write in your lifetime.

4. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor