Tags:
  1. Tommy Pen

Tommy Pen New Member

Some questions regarding an MC's race

Discussion in 'Research' started by Tommy Pen, Jun 7, 2018.

Hello all, I'm an aspiring writer who has not written much yet but I have a fairly decent knowledge of writing and writing conventions, but I'm having trouble with some more touchier subjects.

The idea I have is essential "What if the standard fantasy/fairytale setting went through an industrial revolution and had its own version of the Gilded Age". It's a deconstructive story, examining common themes and stories with the changing world of industrialization and the common folk becoming more autonomous and free thinking, just with a bunch of magic and fantastical monsters and fairies through in. But that's not necessarily the point of the post, the idea I have of the MC is. I could just go with the standard "blonde hair, blue eyed farmer teen who is the chosen one/one true king" kinda thing but I have a different idea I want to do with that. So instead, I went in the opposite direction and thought to make them a young adult black women. Of course, I had to try and figure out the story reasons for how she was gonna been in the setting (It's based off of medieval England and surrounding areas). So started looking into minority ethnic groups of the time and other bits and bobs until I started asking some more ... meta questions. Moral questions.