1. Pyloness

Pyloness New Member

Making that first leap?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Pyloness, Aug 5, 2014.

Long time listener, first time caller :)

I've been writing on and off for a couple of years now, joined some creative writing groups, and built up my confidence a little, but I can't seem to get over the fear of showing other people my work, and getting it out there. Those who have seen it, have said it's great and that I should continue getting it out there, but there's always something that seems to stop me.

I was just wondering how you all got past that initial hurdle? Did you show it to family and friends first? Did you put some of your writing out online? Did you go down a different route?

GingerCoffee likes this.
  2. jazzabel

jazzabel Agent Provocateur Contributor

I started writing on a blog, so whatever I had, it was for all to see. I found the feedback from readers very helpful. Whoever you decide to show it, though, you have to be prepared for the worst. As long as you are hanging on to your pride and ego, you'll find showing your work, and especially work in progress, difficult. The thing is, there are some nasty people out there, who will slag anything off, just to make themselves feel better. On the other hand, if an honest review flags up issues, you are so much better off knowing then not knowing.

3. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

Well, you've come to the right place. We have a Writing Workshop here and you can post small extracts (usually not more than about 1,500 words, but that's not a hard limit) of your work there. Other members will then offer critiques.

We have some rules in this forum. Read the New Member Quick Start Guide and you'll know how things work around here.

Welcome to the forum! :)

4. domenic.p

domenic.p Banned

Swiveltaffy,