1. john k

john k New Member

Song writing help?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by john k, May 18, 2009.

I am a guitarist and singer as a hobby and I have had a slight interest in writing some of my own songs. I have some good riffs in place but when I think of words that go with them, I go blank. Almost losing the riff in the process.

So my questions are these:

Is it better to write the words to a song first and then try and compose the music or vice versa?

What are some ways to channel the mood of the song into words? My riffs have a distinctive feel to them but no real subject of course. Any ideas?

Any other tips to get started?

2. KP Williams

KP Williams Active Member

There's no best way to write a song. What works for you, works for you, and vice-versa. Personally, I come up with the music first and the words afterward. In my experience, it's harder to make the music match the words than it is to make the words match the music, but that's just for me. If you have trouble remembering the music, as your post seemed to suggest, write it down. Standard notation if you know it, or tablature, since you're a guitarist. Or record yourself playing it on camera. Again, whatever works best. I use a mixture of both.

As for coming up with lyrics, just whatever comes to mind. If you need serious lyrics, think of something that you're serious about: a loved one, your stance on some controversial topic, etc. If you don't need serious lyrics, you might come up with something completely silly (a la Psychostick). I don't have much experience at all as a lyricist, so that's the best I can do.

3. Mercurial

Mercurial Contributor Contributor

That is completely your choice. Trial and error; which gets you the better quality in song?
    In my own experience, I found that lyrics were easier for me to write because I could come up with a sing-able melody to those words so that my genius riff didnt clash with my melody.