0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Make them up?

4 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. Aaron O’Donovan

Aaron O’Donovan New Member

Starting a kinda dark story?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Aaron O’Donovan, Feb 14, 2019.

I’m looking to start writing a novel or short story not quite sure which yet about what I’ve learned going through life and what the different thing you do can effect your relationship with others, I’m just not quite sure where to being I’m hoping someone out there can give me some solid advice, I’m a young writer when a lot to talk about and I really want to give this a good go and finally have something to be proud of, please give me any advice which would be beneficial to me

Seven Crowns likes this.
  2. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

I think you have to decide, first of all, what your goal is in writing it. At 20, you've probably experienced/learned only a fraction of what you will over the course of a lifetime. And some things you THINK you've learned, you will probably at some point learn quite differently. So, if your goal is to write this as a marker of where you are now, to be reread in the future as a measurement of how far you've come, that's fine. In that case, a good starting point would be just before the first event in your life that you feel altered your life's trajectory (for example, if I were undertaking such a project, I would start with a trip to Ireland I took with my parents when I was 10, beginning with who I was and how I felt before the trip, and then, how the trip changed me).

If your goal is to present a kind of roadmap to those younger than you--say, teenagers--I suggest starting at around age 11 or 12. But my advice would be to approach it from the former rather than the latter. I suspect you will get more out of it that way. Best of luck.

3. Alan Aspie

Alan Aspie Banned Contributor

1. Read - a lot.

2. Read - very much.

3. You should spend time reading.