1. MeadhbhMoryx

MeadhbhMoryx New Member

'Show Don't Tell' is kicking my butt!

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by MeadhbhMoryx, Feb 1, 2016.

Hello Friends,

I am a novice in the art of fiction writing and By Jove is 'Show Don't Tell kicking my butt! I can 'Tell' until the cows come home but the 'Show' part I find a real struggle with. I absolutely understand the concepts,
    (she says sheepishly)
    I know why I need to do it. I get that it is: See, Feel, Hear..etc, and yet I find it particularly challenging. Specifically the Feel.
    God-damn I don't know how to describe bodily sensations. 'Her skin prickled with heat'. This almost seems the best I can do.
    This tread is perhaps a FAQ that y'all are sick of answering, if so my sincere apologises...however I will continue.
    Do any of you guys out there have this same struggle? Are there any books, blogs, articles..etc, or any piece of beautiful wisdom anybody has heard that they found particularly useful or insightful when it comes to this challenge.
    Does anyone know of a comprehensive book, particularly one that addresses how to describe bodily sensations so that I may learn to indicate the emotion without overtly saying 'her chest tightened WITH FEAR'.
    Essentially kind people, any help whatsoever one is willing to offer me against my 'Show Don't Tell' Nemesis would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks!

2. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

From someone who's been there, it just takes practice.

'her chest tightened WITH FEAR'. The reader will get it from the rest of the scene without being told.

I use Google a lot. You'd be surprised what you get with simple search string of "how to write [fill in the blank]."

3. GingerCoffee

Oscar Leigh and MrsK like this.
  4. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor