1. agentkirb

agentkirb New Member

Difficulty thinking of words/phrases to describe facial expressions

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by agentkirb, Dec 19, 2012.

I got hung up on this story that I'm writing. It's a scene where two detectives are outside of an interrogation room, Jim has just gotten finished questioning the suspect but with no success. These are not the real names of the characters. I have a little more imagination than this.

Bob suddenly said “Let me talk to her for a few minutes.”

“You think you will have any more success than I did?” Jim asked wearing an expression I can't describe because I'm a lousy writer.

---

I know that simply saying "he said" "she said" is fine in most situations, and that's usually what I do. However in this specific situation I don't think it's obvious the tone/feeling is implied. I was wanting Jim to have some kind of look on his face that says that is surprised that an inexperienced Bob wants to ask a few questions, maybe is a little mad because Jim is supposed to be a really good interrogator but had no success and this new guy wants to come in and help... but at the same time he's not being openly hostile because they are good acquaintances.

I'm not exactly looking for help JUST on this one scenario (if you want to throw out some ideas, I won't turn them down), but I seem to have issues with this sort of thing where I'll know something needs to be written here but literally can't think of the words. Does anyone know of a good way to get passed this? Cause right now my only solution is to read other books and just take note of these types of expressions and know when to use them for my own stories, but that seems like it would take me forever to get a comprehensive list.