Tags:
  1. Mish

Mish Senior Member

Starting out

Discussion in 'Research' started by Mish, Jun 12, 2019.

Hi Everyone,

I am an amateur science fiction, short story writer and I am pretty new to this experience. I'm interested in your advice on best strategy a new writer should adopt in today's writing market to become successful. I am interested in answering questions below:

- What strategy should a new writer adopt in today's market?
    - What platforms are best to use? (for critique/review, editing, publishing, self-publishing, marketing, publicity etc.)
    - Which people should be influenced?
    - What is the best way to grow the amount of readers and a following?
    - Focus on publication of short stories in various publications, (higher volume) which can later be published as a collection or focus instead on novels? (higher quality, lower volume)

I am looking forward to your feedback!

Mish

Alan Aspie likes this.
  2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

I think you need to spend some time refining your terms and setting your goals more precisely. The first one that jumps out at me as needing some attention is "successful". Do you mean commercially successful? How do you define that? And is it ALL you want or do you also want to be able to write exactly what you want, in exactly the way you want to? Are you willing to settle for "more-or-less" what and how you want to write? Or are you willing to sacrifice your personal interests in the name of commercial success? Do you also want critical success/respect (as more than just a marketing tool)? etc.

I'd also want to unpack the idea of a "new writer" a bit. What other skills/connections/resources might this writer have? Is the writer brand new to writing, or has she at least written lots of unpublished stuff?

It's really hard to answer these questions in generalities, because there are so many individual variables at play.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
    Thundair, Mish and jannert like this.