Tags:
  1. makrothymia

makrothymia New Member

Stephan from germany

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by makrothymia, Jan 11, 2018.

Hi - this is Stephan. I'm a hobby author and musician from Germany and I never wrote in English so far. I wrote things in German of course. Mainly short stories, song-lyrics and (so proud) a novel called “Glück so viel man braucht” which means in English “Fortune as much as you need”.

So now I'm here to learn more about writing in English because perhaps I want to start with writing English lyrics. I'll try my very best when posting something. Don't be too hard with me, if I make mistakes. Looking forward for the community.

- Stephan

2. Lemie

Lemie Contributor Contributor

From your introduction text I don't think you'll have a hard time with the language. People here are usually quite nice about it, especially when English is someones second language.

Welcome to the forum :)

Tomb1302 and makrothymia like this.
  3. JLT

JLT Contributor Contributor

I'll second that. Your English is already solid, so it'll be mostly a question of mastering idioms. (For example, your translation of “Glück so viel man braucht” is word for word, but it would flow more easily in English if it read "As much fortune (or luck) as you need." A question of ear, that's all. The more you read or hear English, the faster these pieces will fall into place.

Where in Germany are you from? I grew up in Frankfurt am Main in the 1950s and 1960s, but haven't been back since 1972. This was before it really became "Manhattan am Main" and from what I've seen of Google Streetview, there's not a lot I recognize anymore.

4. makrothymia

makrothymia New Member

I come from Siegen. That's about 150 km north from Frankfurt. And yes - I guess there was a lot of change since the seventies. And since the reunion of Germany even more. Siegen is much smaller but partly it has these small, timbered houses. A nice place to live.