Tags:
  1. CarpCatcher

CarpCatcher New Member

Sticking to one POV per scene

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by CarpCatcher, May 24, 2020.

Hi, I'm a new writer attempting my first novel, written in Third Person Limited. This is a real newbie question...

Golden rule: Do not head-hop from one character to another in the same scene. Ok, I get that. But I have a problem -

My scene involves the protagonist (a police inspector) describing a search of a well, down which a diver descends to look for evidence. I want the reader to experience from the diver's eyes what it's like to go down into that dark place. But to do this I would have to violate the 'one POV per scene rule. How should I tackle this?

2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

It's not the kind of rule that can't ever be broken—but you're good to be concerned about it. Head hopping is distracting to a reader who wants to identify with only one character at one time. I'd say do ask yourself if it's absolutely necessary for both POVs to be included in the same scene.

I do like the idea of the two separate experiences, though, as they will be very different.

The police inspector will be left on the surface, while the diver is gone ...it's not as if they're interacting the whole time. So I think it's possible to do two (or more) separate scenes within the one chapter.