1. Hublocker

Hublocker Active Member

Story arc

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction' started by Hublocker, Dec 3, 2021.

How the heck do I create a story arc out of a loosely connected bunch of anecdotes about growing up in an isolated boat/air access only logging town?

2. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Contributor Contributor Contest Winner 2023

I've got no experience in this, but I'd look for a common theme or maybe even a physical landmark common to all of the stories (supermarket, fishing spot, etc.).

One of the things with memoirs is the temptation to embellish certain stories or details to make it more interesting but obviously there is a limit to how much you can honestly do this.

If all else fails, just end every chapter with something clever like 'A tree comes down, a house goes up' or 'another tree comes down, another family says goodbye'.

3. evild4ve

evild4ve Critique is stranger than fiction Supporter Contributor

If the story has historical or documentary value that can take some emphasis off the character arc. Why are the anecdotes being told? Who is telling them? And could the connection between them be upgraded/developed into an escalation, or a rhetorical exposition of a deeper idea or theme?

4. Set2Stun

Set2Stun Rejection Collector Contributor Contest Winner 2022 Contest Winner 2023

Currently Reading::
    The Road - Cormac McCarthy
    Yes, more information is needed. If it's fiction, my first idea would be to switch POVs when two characters meet - one ending their part of the narrative, and the other starting. Not necessarily a conversation, but could be taking part in the same event, same line up at a checkout, etc.

5. Hublocker

Hublocker Active Member

I wrote a 73,000 word memoir and the publisher I sent it to said it needed a story arc.

6. Set2Stun

Set2Stun Rejection Collector Contributor Contest Winner 2022 Contest Winner 2023

Currently Reading::
    The Road - Cormac McCarthy