1. BWFC326

BWFC326 New Member

Story Idea, opinions needed

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BWFC326, Oct 20, 2009.

Hello everyone,

This is my first posting here having just registered, from what I have read so far it looks like just the place I need to be.

My story will sound familiar - I believe I have good story ideas, good enough to be aired, what format they should manifest in, is only one of my dilemmas.

I have been aching and wondering for many years, since childhood in fact, about whether I have what it takes to become a professional writer.

What I am looking for is a kind of mentor I suppose, or somewhere I can get feedback and advice on my story ideas, is this the place?

Kind Regards

Barry

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Hello Barry, Welcome to the Writing Forums.

Story ideas aren't really worth much. What matters is how well you turn it into a completed short story or novel.

Posting your own work should not be among the very first things you do here anyway. It is worth taking the time to see what other people have done to improve their writing, and see if some of it applies to your writing as well. That is part of why we require members to review other members' work before posting their own for review. On the other hand, there are no restrictions, other than content and copyright rules, on showcasing your work in your member blog.

Also, be aware that posting a piece of writing on any public site, including this one, will greatly diminish your chances of selling it for publication. Removing the writing later does not alter that fact - once posted, it is irreversibly considered published. So do not post anything more than a small excerpt of any piece you are planning to submit for publication.