1. Torana

Torana Contributor Contributor

Worst and Best Poets

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Torana, Apr 10, 2007.

Ok well who would be you favourite poet, not on the forums but published poet?
    Who do you consider to be the best poet and why?

Who is the one poet you dislike?
    What do you not like about their work?

~Torana

2. wordwizard

wordwizard New Member

I actually dont have a favorite poet since I am pretty new to this. I came to this forum to write some stories, but ended up falling head over heels for poetry.
    I even think of new poem ideas when I am sleeping-haha. such a liitle nerd I am. The one poet/writer I am not a fan of is william shakespear. I just can never grasp it. Maybe it is because it is forced upon us in grade school and becomes a chore. Who knows.
    I will look into some poets to see whose style I like.
    Who is your favorite torana?

3. Torana

Well my favourite is actually William Shakespeare. lol as far as I am concerned he is the best poet of all time. :D
    We all have our own opinions though.
    But yes a lot of teachers do that with shakespeare as his works are amazing and so different to any other poetry you will read. I think they really need to back off with that so that his works can actually be appreciated a little more.

As for worst poet, there is really a poet I dislike yet. When I find one I will let you know.

~Torana

4. goodtik

goodtik New Member

my favourite poems are Brits, other than Poe.
    Wordsworth, Byron, Shelley, Yeats, and Brooke.

My worst poets would be modern poets who think rhyme is beneath them. They may rot slow if you ask me.

5. Torana

Fair enough. I recently came to the conclusion that I dislike the works of Edgar Allan Poe. I was reading some of his works recently and they were just terrible and I have personally read some better poetry on this forum.....