1. Shuvam Das

Shuvam Das Member

Books every fantasy author should read

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Shuvam Das, Jul 28, 2015.

Okay, so the thing is, that I want to write fantasy novels. Actually, I already do. I've been writing for two years already. But, I've not written much that I can be proud of. And I have a feeling that this is because I haven't read much at all. I hated reading as a kid, so you could say I started reading a few months before I started writing.

So, can you please suggest me some books that I should read to grow as an author? Fantasy and Science Fiction only, please. And yeah, I write YA Fantasy, so how about suggesting YA Fantasy books too?

2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

If you write YA fantasy, you can't go wrong with taking a look at Kristin Cashore's books Graceling, Fire, and Bitterblue. And of course there are other authors to look at: Charles de Lint, Susan Cooper, Robin McKinley, Patricia Wrede. If you are more on the paranormal romance side of YA, probably P.C. and Kristin Cast or C.C. Hunter. For more general fiction, maybe Lauren Oliver or Alyson Noel (I think reading outside of genre is useful for fantasy writers).

3. Oister

Oister New Member

The Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. Anything by Brandon Sanderson is YA fantasy gold really. More random authors I can think of off the top of my head... Patrick Rothfuss, Terry Pretchett, Susan Cooper, Scott Lynch.

4. tasjess

tasjess Active Member

Robin Hobb - start with Assassin's Apprentice
    Mark Lawrence (can be a bit dark) start with Prince of Thorns
    Orson Scott Card - start with Ender's Game
    J R R Tolkin - start with The Hobbit
    George R R Martin - Game of Thrones
    Madeleine L'Engle -Wrinkle in Time
    J K Rowling - Harry Potter
    Catherynne M. Valente - The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making
    Lois Lowry - The Giver
    Suzanne Collins - The Hunger Games
    Isaac Asimov - I, Robot