Tags:
  1. GB reader

GB reader Contributor Contributor

Love defeats everything?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by GB reader, Aug 26, 2018.

I write short stories. I’m just practicing. I have been doing this for fifteen months. I still have a long way to go.

Now I’m rewriting a story I wrote a year ago. It is/was a boy meets girl thing. She is older than him. Something like 21 and 25. I wanted the age difference, and I used it a little.

But as i rewrite I see I can use the age difference much more (he is also 20 now) I can get much more friction and tension. More drama. It makes it a better story. It still ends on high note. They end up together, I didn't change that.

But anyone can see that this is not going to last. I have made them too incompatible.

Stories can end good or they can end bad. But is it OK to end a story in a happily ever after way when a breakup is around the corner?

Of course one way to do it would be to make it twice as long and follow them to the bitter end.

Lazy, soft, coward as I am, I actually toned the differences down again.

I felt I would be dishonest to any reader leaving a happy ending with a disaster nearby.

Thoughts about that?

2. Homer Potvin

Homer Potvin A tombstone hand and a graveyard mind Staff Supporter Contributor

Why? Life alternates happiness with disaster all the time. Can't have one without the other.

Shenanigator likes this.
  3. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

in a word yes - that's what romance writers call a HFN ending (happy for now)

Cave Troll likes this.
  4. Azuresun

Azuresun Senior Member

What makes it a disaster? A four-year age gap isn't huge, even at those ages.