1. OnesieWrites

OnesieWrites Member

Tackling philosophy and politics, without sounding too preachy?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by OnesieWrites, Sep 11, 2017.

So my WIP so far, is full of morally grey characters, placed in a situation where they can either do good or bad to accomplish there goals. I find that this is one of my favourite ways of developing characters as it makes them more believable and makes them fall less into the good hobbits evil ugly goblin trope.

One of my characters for example is morally grey because he kills people for money, but wants to write the wrongs of his past after murdering an innocent person.
    Another character is more of a victim of the worst of humanity who tried to do good and is seeking to do evil deeds himself to fit in and climb the ladder of success. (Think of Walter White from breaking bad)

I'm no expert here so i'm merely using some of my favourite characters from other stories to inspire my own in terms of morality and development, adding twist here and there from real life experiences.

But the reason i'm placing this here, is because i feel like my world, setting and themes need to follow the flow of the characters, after all we are products of our environment and culture and therefore i was wondering how i could tackle the subjects of philosophy, human nature, politics and culture without sounding too preachy and bias.

I find that Game of Thrones does this quite well as theirs a character for everybody to like and hate and the issues are never black and white, but it doesn't beat you over the head with a message. Since my book is cyberpunk with fantasy themes , i decided to keep these elements vague for now but allude to them for world building (references to an Orwellian state, dark web, cyber crime, Machiavellian politics etc).