1. MHJr92

MHJr92 New Member

Very first paragraph of a story questions

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by MHJr92, Apr 28, 2013.

In the first paragraph of chapter one of my story, I introduce three names of characters. What are the thoughts on this? I'm a real amateur at writing and any help would be much appreciated. The writing is still very rough and I'm making changes daily to what I have written, but I'd like opinions on this matter. Below I have added the opening paragraph so there is an understanding as to why I'm introducing three characters. I get nervous when I share my work, but I very much want to improve and go about writing correctly.

Chris is the main character, Mike plays a major roll in the story as it develops.

Thanks for the help.

2. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor

The problem isn't so much the introduction of three characters so quickly as that it's flat, slightly confusing, and I'm sorry to say, boring. Your first paragraph needs to be exciting, or intriguing, or make us immediately identify with the main character. Your paragraph is just kind of setting out a situation, and one that's relatively common.

If I were to write this, I'd get into Chris' head. Something like

Drip.

Damn it. That infernal non-stop dripping of the kitchen faucet.

Drip.

That fucking faucet, thought Chris. Why did it mock him so?

Drip.