1. BlackBird

BlackBird New Member

Characters - Show detailed is too detailed and more questions

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by BlackBird, Dec 31, 2012.

First off, I've never written before - well I've played with stories here and there in between off time as my career as a federal correction officer.

However, I am wondering a couple of things.

1) How much detail do you give to a character without making them seem too much. A sort of Mary-Sue situation.

2) How attached to get to a character. Is getting too attached a bad thing? Can that cause too much focus on one character while skipping other main characters?

3) Are characters more interesting from a third person omniscient idea or 1st person? I find writing third person easier.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

First off, forget the term Mary Sue. It is so overused and misused that it has lost all useful meaning. (For the record, a Mary Sue is author self-insertion into the story to vicariously live out the author's fantasies - it has nothing to do with level of detail).

Opinions vary on how much detail is too much. My preference is to provide a minimum of detail, just enough to stimulate the reader's imagination to fill in the rest. That doesn't mean my own visualization of the character is not vivid and detailed. It only means I don't try to force feed my vision to the reader. For example, there is a short story in my blog, titled Blue. There is a woman in the story, mysterious and alluring to the main character. The only details I provide is her straight black hair, blue eyes, and blue dress. I leave the rest to the reader, who will conjure up his or her own image of her, based on that reader's own aesthetics. It was a deliberate choice.

Too much detail is the first detail that gets in the way of the story. Every detail slows down the pace, which isn't always a bad thing. But it must be appropriate to where it occurs in the story.

3. SilverWolf0101