1. lonelystar

lonelystar Active Member

Terminal cancer

Discussion in 'Research' started by lonelystar, Jan 19, 2018.

As back story one of my characters wife dies with cancer. A quite sudden diagnosis to death situation. I have no experience of cancer at all and was hoping for some basic info on symptoms the person experiences, i.e. headache, nausea. And if possible the feelings the husband would be feeling.

I know it's a difficult topic to discuss so a big thank to anyone willing to do so.

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

This sounds pretty Googleable.

izzybot likes this.
  3. DITF Ninja

DITF Ninja Member

And even then writing about the loss itself may not be as powerful as writing about the immediate aftermath and the whole left behind when she was gone. I know I have done that before with some pieces when writing about a desease that was otherwise too scientific or too hard to get right without looking at it and calling BS on myself.

4. FifthofAscalante

FifthofAscalante Member

My grandfather died from stomach cancer. We weren’t close, he was an austere man. Ironically, he was the top chef at a locally posh restaurant in Poland. He lost the job after he pushed and shut some obnoxious communist in the fringe. I remember him regretfully saying that he wished he had gone to the doctor a year earlier, when he was to take a car ride somewhere with my uncle, and on the way he kept puking his guts out. By the time he was properly diagnosed it didn’t take long, though I’m sure for him, the weeks he spent utterly bedridden, shitting and puking himself to death, stretched out a lot. It was a race between what got him first, starvation or one of many other aspects of cancer. Though, like I said, we were never close, and by the time he was hospitalised, my parents and I have already emigrated abroad.