Tags:
  1. EFMingo

EFMingo A Modern Dinosaur Supporter Contributor

Depths of Research

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by EFMingo, Mar 5, 2019.

When it comes to the levels of research a science fiction author, aspiring or established, how far down the rabbit hole do you all go?

I ask this question because I kept digging farther down then I ever really imagined, and found myself on a career path I never dreamed I would be involved in. Initially, I found myself as an aspiring science fiction writer, locked in an English major, and not really having a solid ground in science. So I left the major, dropped out, joined the US Marine Corps, and became a F-18 electrician. After slaving away at that and learning a lot about military structure and aircraft systems and structures, I felt I needed more, so now I'm a field service engineer on transmission electron microscopes. The job satisfies the need for a continual more, but I think my figurative rabbit hole has started consuming more time and becoming my entire life. I feel like I'm losing direction when it comes to writing.

I've tried diving into research on certain individual subjects, but I would take dives off the deep end on them time and time again. So, my question after all that nonsense, is to the science fiction crowd. How do you really determine where to stop and just get an idea on paper. To what depths do you go?

Stormburn, jannert and Lifeline like this.
  2. Some Guy

Some Guy Manguage Langler Supporter Contributor

Always write the story first, even actually put markers where the techno babble would be, "[tech blah]". It will probably change how far you go to tell the story. It may keep you away from the rabbit-hole. You can write the story without living it. Set your priorities. Enjoy what you discover. :)

Radrook likes this.
  3. XRD_author

XRD_author Banned

It depends on how important the science is to the plot.