Tags:
  1. Timben

Timben Member

Texas Sam, Hired Gun series

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Timben, Jun 13, 2020.

I dunno if anyone will respond. I'm in need of feedback on some ideas. The time setting is 1893. Sam Cassidy and his friends are in search of his employer who's been abducted by mercenaries. The last known location - Alexandria, Egypt. I am an amateur writer and I'm writing a pulp hero series of books. An "Action Hero"-type gunfighter for hire globe trotter. Any input would be quite satisfactory. Any suggestions on what should happen next?

Cdn Writer likes this.
  2. Cdn Writer

Cdn Writer Contributor Contributor

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, North America
    Currently Reading::
    TRYING (!!!) to read Eric Flint's "Ring of Fire" series.......it's soooo many books!!!!!
    1893?

I'd be wondering how an American becomes a globetrotter. The back story would be interesting. Off the top of my head, I assume his father is a diplomat or possibly an army/navy guy. Americans didn't really travel internationally......did they? I've just only heard of the British Empire having that type of international exposure to the world.

Steve Rivers likes this.
  3. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

This is really very vague... you need significantly more detail before anyone can make a sensible suggestion

4. Xoic

Xoic Prognosticator of Arcana Ridiculosum Contributor Blogerator

It was the Victorian age—Phineas Fogg went Around the World in 80 Days. World travel was becoming more and more feasible, though mostly by railroad and steamer (and occasionally by balloon) with segments filled in by renting horses or a carriage. Not sure when air travel became thing, but I guess not until a decade or 2 later. Yeah, the Wright Brothers did their thing around 1900-05. But there were zeppelins before that!