1. Gannon

Gannon Contributor Contributor

Spelling Filter

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Gannon, Feb 13, 2009.

As a writing forum, would it be appropriate to investigate the addition of a spelling filter? In the same way that most email accounts can have a spelling filter attached, could that be a feature we have here when posting?

Clearly they would be some expense to Daniel, but I thought it might be a useful tool for us all, for those that have difficulty with spelling, and for those that have difficulty typing!

The filter would probably have to be set as US English which would alienate certain users but I see the benefits outweighing the negatives. Any call for a filter encouraging laziness I think would be unfounded. We all make mistakes and this could be a level playing field.

Vetting of posts already occurs with the profanity filter so I imagine (although I am no expert) that a spelling filter would just be an addition to this technology, i.e. running all words past a database of acceptable terms and questioning those that do not match. It may make posting a slightly more lengthy process, but it would help the user identify errors and correct them in future, as well as helping the reader / reviewer wade through a text that could ordinarily contain distracting typos.

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

I actually like this idea, Gannon. Definitely something to look into. As a side note, I think firefox has an inbuilt spellchecker. Does anyone know how to turn it on?

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

There is a check spelling option per user on the site, but it requires you obtain a third party spell checker. I think that is actually a wiser way to go, given the diversity on the forum. With the user selecting the spell chacker, he or she can select one that knows the particular dialect of English for that member's locale.